Skip navigation


What is the First Step?

Register with the North Dakota PTAC for no-cost, confidential government contracting assistance

Where do I go to find opportunities?

There are a variety of sites the government uses to post opportunities including FedBizOppsFed ConnectNorth Dakota State Procurement Office and more. 

Do I have to register with the state to bid on and win contracts?

Yes you must register with the state procurement office of any state that you with to do business with. To register with the state of North Dakota go here

Do states have preference programs and contracting goals?

It depends on the state. North Dakota has a reciprocal preference law

What is the Vet’s first contracting program?

The Vet's First Contracting Program is a program run through the Department of Veteran's Affairs (VA) for any veteran or service disabled veteran that wants to do business with the VA. A certified veterans assistance counselor is available to assist at the ND PTAC.

What certifications do I need before I can bid on government contracts?

The basic requirements for bidding on a contract include obtaining a DUNS number, identifying your NAICS codes, and completing your SAM profile. Aside from these it is also wise to sign up on sites like FBO, register with the states you do business in, complete your SBA profile and get signed up as a client with your local PTAC.

Are there web sites where I can see what the government is buying?

There are a lot of great resources out there to research what the government has bought and is planning to buy. Some of these sites include FPDSUSA SpendingFBO, and Acquisition

What is a SAM?

SAM is the System for Award Management and it is the primary registration required for doing business with the federal government. You cannot legally win an award or get paid for a contract unless you are registered and active in SAM which is available at no cost. PTAC Advisors will assist you with the SAM registration process. SAM

What is and where do I get a DUNS number?

A DUNS number is a 9 digit code that is assigned to you by Dun and Bradstreet. This is how the government will identify your business. Go to here to get information regarding your free DUNS numbers. PTAC Advisors will assist you with questions about DUNS registration.

What is a NAICS and how is it different from a SIC code?

 The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are six digit classification codes for products and services used by Federal statistical agencies as the standard in classifying business establishments. The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a system for classifying industries by a four-digit code. It is used by some government agencies to classify industry areas.

What is the 8(a) Business Development Program?

The 8(a) Business Development Program is the SBA's certification for socially and economically disadvantaged businesses. It lasts 9 years from the point of acceptance and makes a business eligible for set aside opportunities. For more information go here.

What is the HUBZone Program?

The Historically Underutilized Business Zoner (HUBZone) program is for businesses with a principle office located in a HUBZone and has 35% of its employees living within a HUBZone. To check and see if your business is located in one of these zones consult the map.

What constitutes a ‘small’ business?

SBA sets the standards for small business and it is based on either dollar amounts or employees. To see the NAICS based sized standards table go here